By 2030: Wizz Air wants to expand its fleet to 500 machines

A321-Sharklet (Photo: Jan Gruber).
A321-Sharklet (Photo: Jan Gruber).

By 2030: Wizz Air wants to expand its fleet to 500 machines

A321-Sharklet (Photo: Jan Gruber).
Advertising

If Wizz Air boss Jozsef Varadi has his way, the carrier should triple its fleet by 2030 and hire around 4.600 pilots. By the end of 2021 alone, the plan is to add 300 additional pilots.

The group has operational flight operations in Hungary, Abu Dhabi and the United Kingdom. Wizz Air did not say exactly where it wants to grow so strongly by 2030, because a strategy change would be necessary within Europe, because at many of the smaller airports that are used, growth is hardly possible any more. Wizz AIr would therefore have to turn to larger airports, but these are often associated with higher costs. According to reports, the carrier is thinking about reactivating the former subsidiary in Kiev-Schuljany and including domestic destinations and destinations for which an AOC of Ukraine is required. There are similar considerations for other states that are located in the area of ​​the former Soviet republics and in the Balkans. There would be quite a bit of potential here.

Wizz Air is currently aiming for the fleet to be expanded to 2030 aircraft by 500. There are currently 140 machines, all of which are leased. Taking into account existing orders, the goal that the lowcoster has set itself also means that a larger order must be placed with Airbus or another manufacturer - the latter is considered unlikely - in the near future.

Not everywhere there is only positive feedback on the ambitious plan of the low-cost airline. For example, the European pilots union ECA has been criticizing the working conditions for pilots for several years. In the media statement, Wizz Air also did not mention that around 1.000 employees were kicked out during the corona pandemic and that many of them left the company voluntarily because of the paycuts.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Editor of this article:

Jan Gruber is Senior Editor at Aviation.Direct. Before that, he had held the same position at AviationNetOnline (formerly Austrian Aviation Net) since 2012. He specializes in low-cost carriers, regional aviation in the DA-CH region and in-depth research.

Nobody likes paywalls
- not even Aviation.Direct!

Information should be free for everyone, but good journalism costs a lot of money.

If you enjoyed this article, you can check Aviation.Direct voluntary for a cup of coffee Coffee trail (for them it's free to use).

In doing so, you support the journalistic work of our independent specialist portal for aviation, travel and tourism with a focus on the DA-CH region voluntarily without a paywall requirement.

If you did not like the article, we look forward to your constructive criticism and / or your suggestions for improvement, either directly to the editor or to the team at with this link or alternatively via the comments.

Your
Aviation.Direct team
paywalls
nobody likes!

About the editor

Jan Gruber is Senior Editor at Aviation.Direct. Before that, he had held the same position at AviationNetOnline (formerly Austrian Aviation Net) since 2012. He specializes in low-cost carriers, regional aviation in the DA-CH region and in-depth research.

Nobody likes paywalls
- not even Aviation.Direct!

Information should be free for everyone, but good journalism costs a lot of money.

If you enjoyed this article, you can check Aviation.Direct voluntary for a cup of coffee Coffee trail (for them it's free to use).

In doing so, you support the journalistic work of our independent specialist portal for aviation, travel and tourism with a focus on the DA-CH region voluntarily without a paywall requirement.

If you did not like the article, we look forward to your constructive criticism and / or your suggestions for improvement, either directly to the editor or to the team at with this link or alternatively via the comments.

Your
Aviation.Direct team
paywalls
nobody likes!

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Advertising

Bis 2030: Wizz Air will Flotte auf 500 Maschinen ausbauen

A321-Sharklet (Foto: Jan Gruber).
A321-Sharklet (Foto: Jan Gruber).

Bis 2030: Wizz Air will Flotte auf 500 Maschinen ausbauen

A321-Sharklet (Foto: Jan Gruber).
Werbung

Geht es nach Wizz-Air-Chef Jozsef Varadi so soll der Carrier bis zum Jahr 2030 die Flotte verdreifachen und rund 4.600 Piloten einstellen. Allein bis Ende 2021 will man 300 zusätzliche Flugzeugführer aufnehmen.

Der Konzern verfügt über operative Flugbetriebe in Ungarn, Abu Dhabi und im Vereinigten Königreich. Wizz Air teilte nicht genau mit wo man bis 2030 so stark wachsen will, denn innerhalb Europas wäre eine Strategieänderung notwendig, denn an vielen kleineren Airports, die genutzt werden, ist kaum mehr Wachstum möglich. Somit müsste sich Wizz AIr noch stärker größeren Flughäfen zuwenden, jedoch sind diese oftmals mit höheren Kosten verbunden. Dem Vernehmen nach denkt der Carrier darüber nach, dass die einstige Tochter in Kiew-Schuljany reaktiviert wird und mit dieser Domestic-Ziele sowie Destinationen, für die ein AOC der Ukraine erforderlich ist, aufgenommen werden. Ähnliche Überlegungen gibt es auch für andere Staaten, die sich im Raum der ehemaligen Sowjetrepubliken und am Balkan befinden. Hier wäre durchaus einiges an Potential vorhanden.

Momentan peilt Wizz Air an, dass die Flotte bis zum Jahr 2030 auf 500 Flugzeuge ausgebaut wird. Derzeit hat man 140 Maschinen, die ausnahmslos geleast sind. Unter Berücksichtigung bestehender Bestellungen bedeutet das Ziel, das sich der Lowcoster selbst gesetzt hat auch, dass eine größere Order bei Airbus oder einem anderen Hersteller – letzteres gilt als unwahrscheinlich – in naher Zukunft getätigt werden muss.

Nicht überall gibt es nur positives Feedback auf den ambitionierten Plan des Billigfliegers. Beispielsweise kritisiert die europäische Pilotengewerkschaft ECA seit einigen Jahren die Arbeitsbedingungen für Flugzeugführer. Auch erwähnte Wizz Air in der Medienerklärung nicht, dass man während der Corona-Pandemie rund 1.000 Mitarbeiter vor die Tür gesetzt hat und aufgrund der Paycuts viele freiwillig das Unternehmen verlassen hat.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

Redakteur dieses Artikels:

Jan Gruber ist Leitender Redakteur von Aviation.Direct. Zuvor war er seit 2012 in selbiger Funktion bei AviationNetOnline (vormals Austrian Aviation Net) tätig. Er ist auf Lowcost-Carrier, Regionalluftfahrt in der D-A-CH-Region und tiefgehende Recherchen spezialisiert.

Paywalls mag niemand
– auch Aviation.Direct nicht!

Informationen sollten frei für alle sein, doch guter Journalismus kostet viel Geld.

Wenn Ihnen dieser Artikel gefallen hat, können Sie Aviation.Direct freiwillig auf eine Tasse Kaffee Kaffee einladen.

Damit unterstützen Sie die journalistische Arbeit unseres unabhängigen Fachportals für Luftfahrt, Reisen und Touristik mit Schwerpunkt D-A-CH-Region und zwar freiwillig ohne Paywall-Zwang.

Wenn Ihnen der Artikel nicht gefallen hat, so freuen wir uns auf Ihre konstruktive Kritik und/oder Ihre Verbesserungsvorschläge wahlweise direkt an den Redakteur oder an das Team unter unter diesem Link oder alternativ über die Kommentare.

Ihr
Aviation.Direct-Team
Paywalls
mag niemand!

Über den Redakteur

Jan Gruber ist Leitender Redakteur von Aviation.Direct. Zuvor war er seit 2012 in selbiger Funktion bei AviationNetOnline (vormals Austrian Aviation Net) tätig. Er ist auf Lowcost-Carrier, Regionalluftfahrt in der D-A-CH-Region und tiefgehende Recherchen spezialisiert.

Paywalls mag niemand
– auch Aviation.Direct nicht!

Informationen sollten frei für alle sein, doch guter Journalismus kostet viel Geld.

Wenn Ihnen dieser Artikel gefallen hat, können Sie Aviation.Direct freiwillig auf eine Tasse Kaffee Kaffee einladen.

Damit unterstützen Sie die journalistische Arbeit unseres unabhängigen Fachportals für Luftfahrt, Reisen und Touristik mit Schwerpunkt D-A-CH-Region und zwar freiwillig ohne Paywall-Zwang.

Wenn Ihnen der Artikel nicht gefallen hat, so freuen wir uns auf Ihre konstruktive Kritik und/oder Ihre Verbesserungsvorschläge wahlweise direkt an den Redakteur oder an das Team unter unter diesem Link oder alternativ über die Kommentare.

Ihr
Aviation.Direct-Team
Paywalls
mag niemand!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

Werbung