Lalona Air: The next virtual air number?

Visualization of a Lalona Air ATR72-500 (Photo: Lalona Air).
Visualization of a Lalona Air ATR72-500 (Photo: Lalona Air).

Lalona Air: The next virtual air number?

Visualization of a Lalona Air ATR72-500 (Photo: Lalona Air).
Advertising

Lalona Air, which is currently being established, is scheduled to take off from Düsseldorf for the first time on January 15, 2022. According to their own statements, the Danish Air Alsie could be won as a flight partner. Domestic and foreign destinations are to be flown to with a 60-seat ATR72-500.

It is actually a well-known game. A company that is often newly founded sees a market for itself and then wants to offer appropriate flights. However, since you do not have an AOC (Air Operator Certificate), you have to find a partner who then has the appropriate certificates and aircraft. So even though you are not legally an airline, you still call yourself one. This is also the case with Lalona Air.

Ticket sales for various routes on www.lalona-air.de are to be launched in just one month. So far, Friedrichshafen and Klagenfurt have leaked the first two destinations. Lalona Air would like to position itself in the business sector, which also appears possible in view of an ATR60 only equipped with 72 seats. The company's website uses the phrase “Business Airline for Special Needs” to be advertised. You get even more specific on social media. The sales manager, Sean Niefer, says: “Lalona Air is an airline for business travelers without compromise”. Marvin Augustiniak, the managing director says: “We will establish a new way of business travel in Germany”. Strong words from people unknown in the industry.

And Lalona Air actually wants to do a lot differently and thus attract business passengers. According to a press release, passengers will be able to enjoy a shuttle service to Düsseldorf Airport. They also want to make themselves attractive with free meals on board, baggage allowance and access to a lounge. But at what price? Lalona Air mentions in the same press release that the average price should be 225 euros.

Aviation.direct did the math. At full capacity, Lalona Air can earn 13.500 euros. A large part of this, however, will receive Air Alsie commissioned for flight operations. The remaining services (shuttle service, catering, lounge, taxes or fees) must then be paid for. But not everything is paid for with that. Wages and salaries, office rent, electricity, insurance, office supplies, advertising costs, booking platform, and much more. We leave it up to you, dear readers, to decide whether this is worthwhile.

Düsseldorf Airport mentions on its website that 150 destinations can be reached from there - many of which are within the range of an ATR72. So does the fourth largest German airport need more routes? The writer doubts that Düsseldorf is the right basis for a new “airline”. Many routes are already occupied and you would have to fly in competition. Other virtual airlines in German-speaking countries have specialized in smaller local airports (e.g. Lübeck Air in Lübeck, flyBAIR in Bern, Rhein-Neckar Air in Mannheim). From there, the connection to the wide world is ensured and holiday transport is also offered. Lalona Air tries differently. But we doubt whether the flight to Klagenfurt represents a high-demand business connection. Are two weekly flights to Friedrichshafen enough to get business travelers on board? According to a statement by Wolfgang John (spokesman for Bodensee-Airport Friedrichshafen) to SWR Aktuell, there have been good discussions with Lalona Air. But before the airport decides whether Lalona Air will land there, they want to see a business plan. In other words, Bodensee-Airport Friedrichshafen is not 100% convinced of the virtual airline. In addition, you are still not entered in the company register, although allegedly you have already hired twenty employees.

So there could be a lot to suggest that Lalona Air will be the next air number. Aviation.direct will monitor and accompany the implementation and future of Lalona Air.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Editor of this article:

Stefan Steiner previously worked for an airline and has been part of the Aviation.Direct editorial team since August 2021.

Nobody likes paywalls
- not even Aviation.Direct!

Information should be free for everyone, but good journalism costs a lot of money.

If you enjoyed this article, you can check Aviation.Direct voluntary for a cup of coffee Coffee trail (for them it's free to use).

In doing so, you support the journalistic work of our independent specialist portal for aviation, travel and tourism with a focus on the DA-CH region voluntarily without a paywall requirement.

If you did not like the article, we look forward to your constructive criticism and / or your suggestions for improvement, either directly to the editor or to the team at with this link or alternatively via the comments.

Your
Aviation.Direct team
paywalls
nobody likes!

About the editor

Stefan Steiner previously worked for an airline and has been part of the Aviation.Direct editorial team since August 2021.

Nobody likes paywalls
- not even Aviation.Direct!

Information should be free for everyone, but good journalism costs a lot of money.

If you enjoyed this article, you can check Aviation.Direct voluntary for a cup of coffee Coffee trail (for them it's free to use).

In doing so, you support the journalistic work of our independent specialist portal for aviation, travel and tourism with a focus on the DA-CH region voluntarily without a paywall requirement.

If you did not like the article, we look forward to your constructive criticism and / or your suggestions for improvement, either directly to the editor or to the team at with this link or alternatively via the comments.

Your
Aviation.Direct team
paywalls
nobody likes!

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Advertising

Lalona Air: Die nächste virtuelle Luftnummer?

Visualisierung einer Lalona Air ATR72-500 (Foto: Lalona Air).
Visualisierung einer Lalona Air ATR72-500 (Foto: Lalona Air).

Lalona Air: Die nächste virtuelle Luftnummer?

Visualisierung einer Lalona Air ATR72-500 (Foto: Lalona Air).
Werbung

Am 15. Januar 2022 soll die in Gründung befindende Lalona Air das erste Mal von Düsseldorf abheben. Als Flugpartner konnte man nach eigenen Aussagen die dänische Air Alsie gewinnen. Mit einer 60-plätzigen ATR72-500 sollen in- und ausländische Ziele angeflogen werden.

Eigentlich ist es ein bekanntes Spiel. Eine oft neu gegründete Firma sieht für sich einen Markt und will dann entsprechende Flüge anbieten. Da man jedoch über kein AOC (Air Operator Certificate) verfügt, muss man einem Partner finden, welcher dann über die entsprechenden Zertifikate und auch Flugzeuge verfügt. Obwohl man rechtlich also keine Fluggesellschaft ist, bezeichnet man sich trotzdem als solche. Dies ist auch bei Lalona Air der Fall.

Bereits in einem Monat soll der Ticketverkauf für verschiedene Strecken auf www.lalona-air.de lanciert werden. Bisher sind mit Friedrichshafen und Klagenfurt die ersten beiden Destinationen durchgesickert. Lalona Air möchte sich im Businessbereich positionieren, was angesichts einer nur mit 60 Sitzen ausgestatteten ATR72 auch möglich erscheint. Auf der Website des Unternehmens wird mit dem Satz “Business Airline für besondere Ansprüche” geworben. Auf Sozialen Medien wird man noch konkreter. Der Verkaufsleiter, Sean Niefer, sagt: “Lalona Air ist eine Airline für Geschäftsreisende ohne Kompromisse”. Marvin Augustiniak, der Geschäftsführer meint: “wir werden eine neue Art und Weise von Businessreisen in Deutschland begründen”. Starke Worte von in der Branche unbekannten Personen.

Und tatsächlich will Lalona Air einiges anders machen und damit Businesspassagiere anziehen. Gemäß einer Pressemitteilung sollen die Passagiere in den Genuss eines Shuttleservice zum Flughafen Düsseldorf kommen. Weiter will man sich mit kostenfreier Verpflegung an Bord, Freigepäck und den Zutritt zu einer Lounge attraktiv machen. Doch zu welchem Preis? Lalona Air erwähnt in selbiger Pressemitteilung, dass der Durchschnittspreis bei 225 Euro liegen soll.

Aviation.direct hat nachgerechnet. Bei Vollauslastung kann Lalona Air somit 13.500 Euro verdienen. Ein Großteil davon wird aber für die Flugoperationen beauftragte Air Alsie erhalten. Vom Rest müssen dann die weiteren Leistungen (Shuttleservice, Catering, Lounge, Taxen resp. Gebühren) beglichen werden. Aber damit ist ja noch nicht alles bezahlt. Löhne und Gehälter, Büromiete, Strom, Versicherungen, Büromaterialien, Werbekosten, Buchungsplattform, und vieles mehr. Die Entscheidung, ob sich das rechnen kann, überlassen wir Ihnen liebe Lesende.

Der Flughafen Düsseldorf erwähnt auf seiner Website, dass von dort 150 Flugziele zu erreichen sind – viele davon liegen innerhalb der Reichweite einer ATR72. Braucht also der viertgrößte deutsche Flughafen noch weitere Strecken? Der Schreibende bezweifelt, dass Düsseldorf die richtige Basis für eine neue “Airline” ist. Viele Strecken sind bereits belegt und man müsste in Konkurrenz fliegen. Andere virtuelle Fluggesellschaften im deutschsprachigen Raum haben sich auf kleinere lokale Flughäfen spezialisiert (beispielsweise Lübeck Air in Lübeck, flyBAIR in Bern, Rhein-Neckar Air in Mannheim). Von dort wird dann der Anschluss an die weite Welt sichergestellt respektive auch Ferienverkehr angeboten. Lalona Air versucht es anders. Doch ob der Flug nach Klagenfurt eine nachfragestarke Businessverbindung darstellt, bezweifeln wir. Genügen zwei wöchentliche Flüge nach Friedrichshafen, um Geschäftsreisende an Bord zu holen? Gemäss einer Aussage von Wolfgang John (Sprecher des Bodensee-Airport Friedrichshafen) gegenüber SWR Aktuell, hat es gute Gespräche mit Lalona Air gegeben. Aber bevor der Flughafen entscheidet, ob Lalona Air dort landen wird, wolle man noch einen Geschäftsplan sehen. In anderen Worten, der Bodensee-Airport Friedrichshafen ist nicht zu 100% überzeugt von der virtuellen Fluggesellschaft. Außerdem ist man immer noch nicht im Unternehmensregister eingetragen, obwohl man angeblich bereits zwanzig Mitarbeitende eingestellt hat.

Es könnte also vieles dafürsprechen, dass Lalona Air die nächste Luftnummer wird. Aviation.direct wird die Umsetzung und Zukunft der Lalona Air beobachten und begleiten.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

Redakteur dieses Artikels:

Stefan Steiner war zuvor bei einer Fluggesellschaft tätig und verstärkt seit August 2021 die Redaktion von Aviation.Direct.

Paywalls mag niemand
– auch Aviation.Direct nicht!

Informationen sollten frei für alle sein, doch guter Journalismus kostet viel Geld.

Wenn Ihnen dieser Artikel gefallen hat, können Sie Aviation.Direct freiwillig auf eine Tasse Kaffee Kaffee einladen.

Damit unterstützen Sie die journalistische Arbeit unseres unabhängigen Fachportals für Luftfahrt, Reisen und Touristik mit Schwerpunkt D-A-CH-Region und zwar freiwillig ohne Paywall-Zwang.

Wenn Ihnen der Artikel nicht gefallen hat, so freuen wir uns auf Ihre konstruktive Kritik und/oder Ihre Verbesserungsvorschläge wahlweise direkt an den Redakteur oder an das Team unter unter diesem Link oder alternativ über die Kommentare.

Ihr
Aviation.Direct-Team
Paywalls
mag niemand!

Über den Redakteur

Stefan Steiner war zuvor bei einer Fluggesellschaft tätig und verstärkt seit August 2021 die Redaktion von Aviation.Direct.

Paywalls mag niemand
– auch Aviation.Direct nicht!

Informationen sollten frei für alle sein, doch guter Journalismus kostet viel Geld.

Wenn Ihnen dieser Artikel gefallen hat, können Sie Aviation.Direct freiwillig auf eine Tasse Kaffee Kaffee einladen.

Damit unterstützen Sie die journalistische Arbeit unseres unabhängigen Fachportals für Luftfahrt, Reisen und Touristik mit Schwerpunkt D-A-CH-Region und zwar freiwillig ohne Paywall-Zwang.

Wenn Ihnen der Artikel nicht gefallen hat, so freuen wir uns auf Ihre konstruktive Kritik und/oder Ihre Verbesserungsvorschläge wahlweise direkt an den Redakteur oder an das Team unter unter diesem Link oder alternativ über die Kommentare.

Ihr
Aviation.Direct-Team
Paywalls
mag niemand!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

Werbung