Ryanair is suspending all Northern Ireland flights

Ryanair logo on an overhead bin (Photo: Jan Gruber).
Ryanair logo on an overhead bin (Photo: Jan Gruber).

Ryanair is suspending all Northern Ireland flights

Ryanair logo on an overhead bin (Photo: Jan Gruber).
Advertising

The low-cost airline Ryanair will withdraw completely from Northern Ireland. The carrier currently offers its services from Belfast International and Belfast City. Management accuses the UK government of not giving the industry any incentives to recover.

"Due to the UK government's refusal to suspend or reduce APD [Air Passenger Duty] and the lack of incentives to recover from Covid from both Belfast airports, Ryanair will cease operations at Belfast International and Belfast City Airport this winter from Set at the end of the summer flight schedule, ”said the low-cost airline in a statement.

The aircraft used on the routes to / from Belfast are to be used from other airports in Europe - at least in the winter flight schedule 2021/22. However, Ryanair did not say where they would be relocated. One speaks only of "cheaper airports in the UK and Europe".

The flight offer in Derry was discontinued at the beginning of 2021. It was only in June of this year that Ryanair returned to Belfast City Airport after an eleven-year absence. There are currently eight routes from this airport. These are many routes that were previously operated by Flybe.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Editor of this article:

Amely Mizzi is Executive Assistant at Aviation Direct Malta in San Pawl il-Baħar. She previously worked in the Aircraft and Vessel Financing division at a banking group. She is considered a linguistic talent and speaks seven languages ​​fluently. She prefers to spend her free time in Austria on the ski slopes and in summer on Mediterranean beaches, practically on her doorstep in Gozo.

Nobody likes paywalls
- not even Aviation.Direct!

Information should be free for everyone, but good journalism costs a lot of money.

If you enjoyed this article, you can check Aviation.Direct voluntary for a cup of coffee Coffee trail (for them it's free to use).

In doing so, you support the journalistic work of our independent specialist portal for aviation, travel and tourism with a focus on the DA-CH region voluntarily without a paywall requirement.

If you did not like the article, we look forward to your constructive criticism and / or your suggestions for improvement, either directly to the editor or to the team at with this link or alternatively via the comments.

Your
Aviation.Direct team
paywalls
nobody likes!

About the editor

Amely Mizzi is Executive Assistant at Aviation Direct Malta in San Pawl il-Baħar. She previously worked in the Aircraft and Vessel Financing division at a banking group. She is considered a linguistic talent and speaks seven languages ​​fluently. She prefers to spend her free time in Austria on the ski slopes and in summer on Mediterranean beaches, practically on her doorstep in Gozo.

Nobody likes paywalls
- not even Aviation.Direct!

Information should be free for everyone, but good journalism costs a lot of money.

If you enjoyed this article, you can check Aviation.Direct voluntary for a cup of coffee Coffee trail (for them it's free to use).

In doing so, you support the journalistic work of our independent specialist portal for aviation, travel and tourism with a focus on the DA-CH region voluntarily without a paywall requirement.

If you did not like the article, we look forward to your constructive criticism and / or your suggestions for improvement, either directly to the editor or to the team at with this link or alternatively via the comments.

Your
Aviation.Direct team
paywalls
nobody likes!

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Advertising

Ryanair stellt alle Nordirland-Flüge ein

Ryanair-Logo auf einem Overhead-Bin (Foto: Jan Gruber).
Ryanair-Logo auf einem Overhead-Bin (Foto: Jan Gruber).

Ryanair stellt alle Nordirland-Flüge ein

Ryanair-Logo auf einem Overhead-Bin (Foto: Jan Gruber).
Werbung

Die Billigfluggesellschaft Ryanair wird sich vollständig aus Nordirland zurückziehen. Momentan bietet der Carrier seine Dienstleistungen ab Belfast International und Belfast City an. Die Unternehmensführung wirft der britischen Regierung vor, dass diese keine Anreize zur Erholung der Branche geben würde.

„Aufgrund der Weigerung der britischen Regierung, die APD [Air Passenger Duty] auszusetzen oder zu reduzieren, und des Fehlens von Anreizen für die Erholung von Covid von beiden Belfast-Flughäfen wird Ryanair diesen Winter den Betrieb von Belfast International und Belfast City Airport ab dem Ende des Sommerflugplans einstellen“, so der Billigflieger in einer Stellungnahme.

Die auf den Routen von/nach Belfast eingesetzten Flugzeuge sollen – zumindest im Winterflugplan 2021/22 – ab anderen Airports in Europa zum Einsatz kommen. Wohin diese umstationiert werden sagte Ryanair aber nicht. Man spricht lediglich von „kostengünstigeren Flughäfen in UK und Europa“.

Das Flugangebot in Derry wurde bereits Anfang 2021 eingestellt. Erst im Juni dieses Jahres kehrte Ryanair nach elfjähriger Abwesenheit zum Belfast-City-Airport zurück. Derzeit bietet man acht Strecken ab diesem Airport an. Dabei handelt es sich um viele Routen, die vormals von Flybe bedient wurden.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

Redakteur dieses Artikels:

Amely Mizzi ist Executive Assistant bei Aviation Direct Malta in San Pawl il-Baħar. Zuvor war sie im Bereich Aircraft and Vessel Financing bei einem Bankkonzern tätig. Sie gilt als sprachliches Talent und spricht sieben Sprachen fließend. Ihre Freizeit verbringt sie am liebsten in Österreich auf der Schipiste und im Sommer an Mittelmeerstränden quasi vor der Haustür auf Gozo.

Paywalls mag niemand
– auch Aviation.Direct nicht!

Informationen sollten frei für alle sein, doch guter Journalismus kostet viel Geld.

Wenn Ihnen dieser Artikel gefallen hat, können Sie Aviation.Direct freiwillig auf eine Tasse Kaffee Kaffee einladen.

Damit unterstützen Sie die journalistische Arbeit unseres unabhängigen Fachportals für Luftfahrt, Reisen und Touristik mit Schwerpunkt D-A-CH-Region und zwar freiwillig ohne Paywall-Zwang.

Wenn Ihnen der Artikel nicht gefallen hat, so freuen wir uns auf Ihre konstruktive Kritik und/oder Ihre Verbesserungsvorschläge wahlweise direkt an den Redakteur oder an das Team unter unter diesem Link oder alternativ über die Kommentare.

Ihr
Aviation.Direct-Team
Paywalls
mag niemand!

Über den Redakteur

Amely Mizzi ist Executive Assistant bei Aviation Direct Malta in San Pawl il-Baħar. Zuvor war sie im Bereich Aircraft and Vessel Financing bei einem Bankkonzern tätig. Sie gilt als sprachliches Talent und spricht sieben Sprachen fließend. Ihre Freizeit verbringt sie am liebsten in Österreich auf der Schipiste und im Sommer an Mittelmeerstränden quasi vor der Haustür auf Gozo.

Paywalls mag niemand
– auch Aviation.Direct nicht!

Informationen sollten frei für alle sein, doch guter Journalismus kostet viel Geld.

Wenn Ihnen dieser Artikel gefallen hat, können Sie Aviation.Direct freiwillig auf eine Tasse Kaffee Kaffee einladen.

Damit unterstützen Sie die journalistische Arbeit unseres unabhängigen Fachportals für Luftfahrt, Reisen und Touristik mit Schwerpunkt D-A-CH-Region und zwar freiwillig ohne Paywall-Zwang.

Wenn Ihnen der Artikel nicht gefallen hat, so freuen wir uns auf Ihre konstruktive Kritik und/oder Ihre Verbesserungsvorschläge wahlweise direkt an den Redakteur oder an das Team unter unter diesem Link oder alternativ über die Kommentare.

Ihr
Aviation.Direct-Team
Paywalls
mag niemand!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

Werbung