Shortage of staff: Lauda Europe has to thin out due to too few flight attendants in Croatia

Airbus A320 (Photo: Jan Gruber).
Airbus A320 (Photo: Jan Gruber).

Shortage of staff: Lauda Europe has to thin out due to too few flight attendants in Croatia

Airbus A320 (Photo: Jan Gruber).
Advertising

The Irish low-cost airline Ryanair has repeatedly thinned out the flight schedule from the bases Zadar and Zagreb operated by the subsidiary Lauda Europe and postponed the inclusion of new routes. Some have even been temporarily discontinued. The reason for the procedure is not a lack of demand, but an acute lack of personnel.

Many airlines are currently suffering from not having enough flight attendants. In most cases, however, the cause is homemade, because many employees were made redundant in the course of the corona pandemic. A significant number have resigned themselves because of low basic wages or low short-time work benefits and have reoriented themselves in other sectors. Not only Wizz Air and the airlines of the Ryanair Group are affected by a shortage of cabin crew at many locations, but also Austrian Airlines. The Lufthansa subsidiary around 150 flight attendants are currently missing.

At Lauda Europe, the workforce at the bases in Vienna, London-Stansted and Palma de Mallorca is tense, but stable. In Croatia (Zadar and Zagreb) the situation is a little different, because many flight attendants are missing here. In some cases, employees from the Austrian base help out in order to be able to absorb the effects. Lauda Europe is urgently looking for flight attendants for both Vienna and Croatia.

Since there are currently too few cabin crews in Zagreb and Zadar, the flight plan was repeatedly shortened. The inclusion of new destinations has been postponed several times and routes that were only recently served for the first time are temporarily suspended. While they are confident that they will have enough flight attendants by the peak of the season, it will not be an easy task. Lauda Europe and Malta Air boss David O'Brien actually wanted it grow strongly in Zagreb.

The profession of flight attendant has become less attractive in the course of the corona pandemic. For many potential newcomers, wage cuts, short-time work or even the mere payment of the low base salary, as practiced by Wizz Air, act as a deterrent. So it is not surprising that both low-cost airlines and classic network carriers report that only a few applications are received for vacant cabin positions. What employers like to hide, however, is that many providers have tightened up wages because of the pandemic, so that newcomers are not exactly getting lavish wages. This is also evident at Austrian Airlines, whose entry-level salaries are below those of Lauda Europe, now a problem, both with the existing workforce and with potential newcomers.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Editor of this article:

Jan Gruber is Senior Editor at Aviation.Direct. Before that, he had held the same position at AviationNetOnline (formerly Austrian Aviation Net) since 2012. He specializes in low-cost carriers, regional aviation in the DA-CH region and in-depth research.

Nobody likes paywalls
- not even Aviation.Direct!

Information should be free for everyone, but good journalism costs a lot of money.

If you enjoyed this article, you can check Aviation.Direct voluntary for a cup of coffee Coffee trail (for them it's free to use).

In doing so, you support the journalistic work of our independent specialist portal for aviation, travel and tourism with a focus on the DA-CH region voluntarily without a paywall requirement.

If you did not like the article, we look forward to your constructive criticism and / or your suggestions for improvement, either directly to the editor or to the team at with this link or alternatively via the comments.

Your
Aviation.Direct team
paywalls
nobody likes!

About the editor

Jan Gruber is Senior Editor at Aviation.Direct. Before that, he had held the same position at AviationNetOnline (formerly Austrian Aviation Net) since 2012. He specializes in low-cost carriers, regional aviation in the DA-CH region and in-depth research.

Nobody likes paywalls
- not even Aviation.Direct!

Information should be free for everyone, but good journalism costs a lot of money.

If you enjoyed this article, you can check Aviation.Direct voluntary for a cup of coffee Coffee trail (for them it's free to use).

In doing so, you support the journalistic work of our independent specialist portal for aviation, travel and tourism with a focus on the DA-CH region voluntarily without a paywall requirement.

If you did not like the article, we look forward to your constructive criticism and / or your suggestions for improvement, either directly to the editor or to the team at with this link or alternatively via the comments.

Your
Aviation.Direct team
paywalls
nobody likes!

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Advertising

Personalmangel: Lauda Europe muss wegen zu weniger Flugbegleiter in Kroatien ausdünnen

Airbus A320 (Foto: Jan Gruber).
Airbus A320 (Foto: Jan Gruber).

Personalmangel: Lauda Europe muss wegen zu weniger Flugbegleiter in Kroatien ausdünnen

Airbus A320 (Foto: Jan Gruber).
Werbung

Der irische Billigflieger Ryanair hat wiederholt den Flugplan ab den von der Tochtergesellschaft Lauda Europe betriebenen Bases Zadar und Zagreb ausgedünnt und die Aufnahme neuer Strecken nach hinten verschoben. Manche wurden gar temporär eingestellt. Nicht mangelnde Nachfrage, sondern akuter Personalmangel ist die Ursache für die Vorgehensweise.

Viele Fluggesellschaften leiden derzeit darunter, dass man zu wenige Flugbegleiter hat. Die Ursache ist jedoch in den meisten Fällen hausgemacht, denn im Zuge der Coronapandemie trennte man sich von vielen Mitarbeitern. Eine erhebliche Anzahl hat wegen geringer Grundlöhne bzw. niedrigem Kurzarbeiter-Geld selbst gekündigt und sich in anderen Branchen neu orientiert. Nicht nur Wizz Air und die Fluggesellschaften der Ryanair Group sind an vielen Standorten von Personalmangel im Bereich des Kabinenpersonals betroffen, sondern auch Austrian Airlines. Der Lufthansa-Tochter fehlen derzeit rund 150 Flugbegleiter.

Bei Lauda Europe ist die Personaldecke an den Bases Wien, London-Stansted und Palma de Mallorca angespannt, jedoch stabil. In Kroatien (Zadar und Zagreb) ist die Situation ein wenig anders, denn hier fehlen viele Flugbegleiter. Zum Teil helfen Mitarbeiter der österreichischen Basis aus, um die Auswirkungen abfangen zu können. Sowohl für Wien als auch für Kroatien befindet sich Lauda Europe auf der dringenden Suche nach Flugbegleitern.

Da man momentan in Zagreb und Zadar zu wenig Kabinenpersonal hat, wurde der Flugplan wiederholt gekürzt. Die Aufnahme neuer Ziele hat man mehrfach nach hinten verschoben und auch Strecken, die erst kürzlich erstmals bedient wurden, werden temporär ausgesetzt. Man ist zwar zuversichtlich, dass man bis zur Hauptsaison ausreichend Flugbegleiter haben wird, jedoch wird das kein einfaches Unterfangen. Eigentlich wollte Lauda-Europe- und Malta-Air-Chef David O’Brien in Zagreb stark wachsen.

Der Beruf des Flugbegleiters hat im Zuge der Corona-Pandemie an Attraktivität verloren. Für viele potentielle Neueinsteiger dürften Lohnkürzungen, Kurzarbeit oder gar die bloße Auszahlung des niedrigen Grundgehalts, wie es Wizz Air praktiziert hatte, abschreckend wirken. So ist es nicht verwunderlich, dass sowohl Billigflieger als auch klassische Netzwerkcarrier berichten, dass man auf freie Kabinen-Stellen nur noch wenige Bewerbungen bekommt. Was allerdings von Arbeitgeberseite gerne ausgeblendet wird: Viele Anbieter haben wegen der Pandemie ordentlich an der Lohnschraube gedreht, so dass Neueinsteiger nicht gerade üppige Löhne bekommen. Das erweist sich auch bei Austrian Airlines, deren Einsteiger-Gehälter unter jenen von Lauda Europe liegen, mittlerweile als Problem und zwar sowohl bei der bestehenden Belegschaft als auch bei potentiellen Neueinsteigern.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

Redakteur dieses Artikels:

Jan Gruber ist Leitender Redakteur von Aviation.Direct. Zuvor war er seit 2012 in selbiger Funktion bei AviationNetOnline (vormals Austrian Aviation Net) tätig. Er ist auf Lowcost-Carrier, Regionalluftfahrt in der D-A-CH-Region und tiefgehende Recherchen spezialisiert.

Paywalls mag niemand
– auch Aviation.Direct nicht!

Informationen sollten frei für alle sein, doch guter Journalismus kostet viel Geld.

Wenn Ihnen dieser Artikel gefallen hat, können Sie Aviation.Direct freiwillig auf eine Tasse Kaffee Kaffee einladen.

Damit unterstützen Sie die journalistische Arbeit unseres unabhängigen Fachportals für Luftfahrt, Reisen und Touristik mit Schwerpunkt D-A-CH-Region und zwar freiwillig ohne Paywall-Zwang.

Wenn Ihnen der Artikel nicht gefallen hat, so freuen wir uns auf Ihre konstruktive Kritik und/oder Ihre Verbesserungsvorschläge wahlweise direkt an den Redakteur oder an das Team unter unter diesem Link oder alternativ über die Kommentare.

Ihr
Aviation.Direct-Team
Paywalls
mag niemand!

Über den Redakteur

Jan Gruber ist Leitender Redakteur von Aviation.Direct. Zuvor war er seit 2012 in selbiger Funktion bei AviationNetOnline (vormals Austrian Aviation Net) tätig. Er ist auf Lowcost-Carrier, Regionalluftfahrt in der D-A-CH-Region und tiefgehende Recherchen spezialisiert.

Paywalls mag niemand
– auch Aviation.Direct nicht!

Informationen sollten frei für alle sein, doch guter Journalismus kostet viel Geld.

Wenn Ihnen dieser Artikel gefallen hat, können Sie Aviation.Direct freiwillig auf eine Tasse Kaffee Kaffee einladen.

Damit unterstützen Sie die journalistische Arbeit unseres unabhängigen Fachportals für Luftfahrt, Reisen und Touristik mit Schwerpunkt D-A-CH-Region und zwar freiwillig ohne Paywall-Zwang.

Wenn Ihnen der Artikel nicht gefallen hat, so freuen wir uns auf Ihre konstruktive Kritik und/oder Ihre Verbesserungsvorschläge wahlweise direkt an den Redakteur oder an das Team unter unter diesem Link oder alternativ über die Kommentare.

Ihr
Aviation.Direct-Team
Paywalls
mag niemand!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

Werbung