Vienna: Wizz Air is deleting many destinations from the 2022 summer flight schedule

Airbus A321 (Photo: Jan Gruber).
Airbus A321 (Photo: Jan Gruber).

Vienna: Wizz Air is deleting many destinations from the 2022 summer flight schedule

Airbus A321 (Photo: Jan Gruber).
Advertising

The Hungarian low-cost airline Wizz Air has stopped selling tickets on a total of 15 routes from Vienna-Schwechat. Among others, Lisbon, Porto, Eindhoven, Palma de Mallorca and Luqa (Malta) are affected.

Shortly before Christmas 2021, it was announced that Wizz Air would be shutting down its presence in Vienna. Back then were 12 routes permanently cancelled. Without further communication, further destinations have been canceled in recent weeks. Below, for example Milan Malpensa. Now the next prank company is imminent.

It is striking that, with a few exceptions, these are almost exclusively routes on which there is competition with Ryanair. In the past, the two carriers have often “duplicated new destinations”. Apparently, Wizz Air is now taking things a little more calmly.

However, the Hungarian airline has been lagging behind its Irish competitor in Vienna for some time in terms of sales. Ryanair can consistently achieve better load factors. From circles of the low-cost airline it can be heard, among other things, that the fact that Wizz Air - in contrast to Ryanair - only waives rebooking fees if the fee-based Flex package has been purchased beforehand, also plays a major role in the selection of the airline in the low-cost segment should play.

The consequence of the current cancellations is that the Vienna base will be significantly smaller in the 2022 summer flight schedule. It is currently planned that only three Airbus A321neos will be used from Vienna-Schwechat. Machines heading for the Austrian capital from other bases are unaffected by this.

The destinations in Ukraine are not included in the following list of routes that, according to the current information, were removed from the plans for the 2022 summer timetable. Due to the military attack by the Russian Federation, these cannot be served for an indefinite period of time. It is currently not foreseeable when airlines will fly to Ukraine again on a scheduled basis.

The following destinations are affected:

  • Malta
  • Billund (resume postponed to November 2022)
  • Heraklion
  • Mykonos
  • Rhodes
  • Santorini
  • Thessaloniki
  • Olbia
  • Marrakech
  • Eindhoven
  • Lisbon
  • Porto
  • Suceava
  • Castellon
  • Alicante
  • Palma de Mallorca
  • Valencia (resume postponed to November 2022)
  • Abu Dhabi (route paused between June 1, 2022 and September 26, 2022)

About the author

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Editor of this article:

Jan Gruber is Senior Editor at Aviation.Direct. Before that, he had held the same position at AviationNetOnline (formerly Austrian Aviation Net) since 2012. He specializes in low-cost carriers, regional aviation in the DA-CH region and in-depth research.

Nobody likes paywalls
- not even Aviation.Direct!

Information should be free for everyone, but good journalism costs a lot of money.

If you enjoyed this article, you can check Aviation.Direct voluntary for a cup of coffee Coffee trail (for them it's free to use).

In doing so, you support the journalistic work of our independent specialist portal for aviation, travel and tourism with a focus on the DA-CH region voluntarily without a paywall requirement.

If you did not like the article, we look forward to your constructive criticism and / or your suggestions for improvement, either directly to the editor or to the team at with this link or alternatively via the comments.

Your
Aviation.Direct team
paywalls
nobody likes!

About the editor

Jan Gruber is Senior Editor at Aviation.Direct. Before that, he had held the same position at AviationNetOnline (formerly Austrian Aviation Net) since 2012. He specializes in low-cost carriers, regional aviation in the DA-CH region and in-depth research.

Nobody likes paywalls
- not even Aviation.Direct!

Information should be free for everyone, but good journalism costs a lot of money.

If you enjoyed this article, you can check Aviation.Direct voluntary for a cup of coffee Coffee trail (for them it's free to use).

In doing so, you support the journalistic work of our independent specialist portal for aviation, travel and tourism with a focus on the DA-CH region voluntarily without a paywall requirement.

If you did not like the article, we look forward to your constructive criticism and / or your suggestions for improvement, either directly to the editor or to the team at with this link or alternatively via the comments.

Your
Aviation.Direct team
paywalls
nobody likes!

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Advertising

Wien: Wizz Air streicht viele Destinationen aus dem Sommerflugplan 2022

Airbus A321 (Foto: Jan Gruber).
Airbus A321 (Foto: Jan Gruber).

Wien: Wizz Air streicht viele Destinationen aus dem Sommerflugplan 2022

Airbus A321 (Foto: Jan Gruber).
Werbung

Die ungarische Billigfluggesellschaft Wizz Air hat ab Wien-Schwechat den Verkauf von Flugtickets auf insgesamt 15 Strecken eingestellt. Betroffen sind unter anderem Lissabon, Porto, Eindhoven, Palma de Mallorca und Luqa (Malta).

Bereits kurz vor Weihnachten 2021 wurde bekannt, dass Wizz Air die Präsenz in Wien herunterfährt. Damals wurden 12 Strecken dauerhaft gestrichen. Ohne nähere Kommunikation wurden in den letzten Wochen weitere Ziele abgesagt. Darunter beispielsweise Mailand-Malpensa. Nun steht das nächste Streichkonzern unmittelbar bevor.

Auffällig ist, dass es sich mit wenigen Ausnahmen fast ausschließlich um Strecken handelt, auf denen man im Wettbewerb mit Ryanair steht. In der Vergangenheit haben die beiden Carrier nicht gerade selten „neue Destinationen gedoppelt“. Offensichtlich geht man es seitens Wizz Air nun etwas ruhiger an.

Allerdings hinkt die ungarische Fluggesellschaft ihrem irischen Mitbewerber in Wien seit einiger Zeit hinsichtlich dem Absatz stark hinterher. Ryanair kann durchwegs bessere Auslastungen erzielen. Aus Kreisen der Billigairline ist unter anderem zu hören, dass der Umstand, dass Wizz Air – im Gegensatz zu Ryanair – auf Umbuchungsgebühren nur dann verzichtet, wenn zuvor das kostenpflichtige Flex-Paket gekauft wurde, auch im Billigsegment eine große Rolle bei der Auswahl der Airline spielen dürfte.

Die Folge aus den nunmehrigen Streichungen ist, dass die Basis Wien im Sommerflugplan 2022 deutlich kleiner ausfallen wird. Derzeit ist geplant, dass nur mehr drei Airbus A321neo ab Wien-Schwechat eingesetzt werden sollen. Davon unberührt sind Maschinen, die von anderen Bases heraus die österreichische Hauptstadt ansteuern.

In der nachfolgenden Auflistung der Routen, die dem aktuellen Informationsstand nach aus den Planungen für den Sommerflugplan 2022 genommen wurden, sind die Ziele in der Ukraine nicht berücksichtigt. Diese können aufgrund des kriegerischen Überfalls seitens der Russischen Föderation auf unbestimmte Zeit nicht bedient werden. Es ist derzeit nicht absehbar wann Fluggesellschaften wieder linienmäßig in die Ukraine fliegen werden.

Folgende Destinationen sind betroffen:

  • Malta
  • Billund (Wiederaufnahme auf November 2022 verschoben)
  • Heraklion
  • Mykonos
  • Rhodos
  • Santorini
  • Thessaloniki
  • Olbia
  • Marrakesch
  • Eindhoven
  • Lissabon
  • Porto
  • Suceava
  • Castellon
  • Alicante
  • Palma de Mallorca
  • Valencia (Wiederaufnahme auf November 2022 verschoben)
  • Abu Dhabi (Route pausiert zwischen 1. Juni 2022 und 26. September 2022)

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

Redakteur dieses Artikels:

Jan Gruber ist Leitender Redakteur von Aviation.Direct. Zuvor war er seit 2012 in selbiger Funktion bei AviationNetOnline (vormals Austrian Aviation Net) tätig. Er ist auf Lowcost-Carrier, Regionalluftfahrt in der D-A-CH-Region und tiefgehende Recherchen spezialisiert.

Paywalls mag niemand
– auch Aviation.Direct nicht!

Informationen sollten frei für alle sein, doch guter Journalismus kostet viel Geld.

Wenn Ihnen dieser Artikel gefallen hat, können Sie Aviation.Direct freiwillig auf eine Tasse Kaffee Kaffee einladen.

Damit unterstützen Sie die journalistische Arbeit unseres unabhängigen Fachportals für Luftfahrt, Reisen und Touristik mit Schwerpunkt D-A-CH-Region und zwar freiwillig ohne Paywall-Zwang.

Wenn Ihnen der Artikel nicht gefallen hat, so freuen wir uns auf Ihre konstruktive Kritik und/oder Ihre Verbesserungsvorschläge wahlweise direkt an den Redakteur oder an das Team unter unter diesem Link oder alternativ über die Kommentare.

Ihr
Aviation.Direct-Team
Paywalls
mag niemand!

Über den Redakteur

Jan Gruber ist Leitender Redakteur von Aviation.Direct. Zuvor war er seit 2012 in selbiger Funktion bei AviationNetOnline (vormals Austrian Aviation Net) tätig. Er ist auf Lowcost-Carrier, Regionalluftfahrt in der D-A-CH-Region und tiefgehende Recherchen spezialisiert.

Paywalls mag niemand
– auch Aviation.Direct nicht!

Informationen sollten frei für alle sein, doch guter Journalismus kostet viel Geld.

Wenn Ihnen dieser Artikel gefallen hat, können Sie Aviation.Direct freiwillig auf eine Tasse Kaffee Kaffee einladen.

Damit unterstützen Sie die journalistische Arbeit unseres unabhängigen Fachportals für Luftfahrt, Reisen und Touristik mit Schwerpunkt D-A-CH-Region und zwar freiwillig ohne Paywall-Zwang.

Wenn Ihnen der Artikel nicht gefallen hat, so freuen wir uns auf Ihre konstruktive Kritik und/oder Ihre Verbesserungsvorschläge wahlweise direkt an den Redakteur oder an das Team unter unter diesem Link oder alternativ über die Kommentare.

Ihr
Aviation.Direct-Team
Paywalls
mag niemand!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

Werbung