SkyUp founds subsidiary airline in Malta and wants to stir up the EU market with 19 machines

Boeing 737-700 (Photo: V1Images.com/Thorsten Urbanek).
Boeing 737-700 (Photo: V1Images.com/Thorsten Urbanek).

SkyUp founds subsidiary airline in Malta and wants to stir up the EU market with 19 machines

Boeing 737-700 (Photo: V1Images.com/Thorsten Urbanek).
Advertising

The Ukrainian low-cost airline SkyUp Airlines wants to establish itself permanently in the ACMI and charter business in the European Union. For this purpose, a new subsidiary is founded, which is to receive an EU AOC. This should also enter the scheduled business from March 2023.

Major shareholder Alexander Alba announced that charter flights for tour operators will initially be operated from Slovakia, the Czech Republic, Romania, Poland, Moldova and the Baltic States. At the same time, it was also emphasized that the existing ACMI cooperations will be transferred to the new AOC. Smartwings, for example, currently has a SkyUp Boeing 737-800 under wet lease. This should also make it clear why Slovakia and the Czech Republic, for example, were explicitly mentioned.

Scheduled flights from Austria and Germany "probably"

The SkyUp partner also said that the start-up could also become active from Austria and Germany. This does not include existing ACMI orders, for example for Corendon, but charter flights and scheduled routes. Further details have not yet been given.

First you want to start with the ACMI and charter business. The Ukrainian SkyUp is already active in this. The future sister company SkyUp Europe is to “take over” the existing customers in the EU and continue to fly for them in ACMI or charter. In addition, the company wants to start its own scheduled flights from the countries mentioned in the second paragraph. Liner activities from Austria and Germany are considered likely, but are currently still being examined. You want to serve classic holiday countries, including Turkey, Egypt and Tanzania.

Sister company Join Up should ensure basic capacity utilization

According to SkyUp Commercial Director Liudmyla Slobodyaniuk, the Join-Up Group, which has branches in the Baltic States, Romania and Poland, already has its first major customer. SkyUp Europe, which is the official project name of the new company, could operate the scheduled flights currently being evaluated from the end of March 2023 at the earliest. "The long-planned strategic intention is being realized - the creation of a full-fledged European airline that will operate in the EU," says Slobodyaniuk. Working with Join Up is absolutely no coincidence: this tour operator also belongs to the Alba family's corporate empire.

However, SkyUp does not want to look too deeply into the cards, because “SkyUp Europe” is – as mentioned – only the project name. Although it cannot be ruled out that this will be the final brand appearance, the Ukrainian low-cost airline emphasizes that the brand, the first bases and the route network will only be communicated at a later date. One is currently in final negotiations with various bodies, including airports, tour operators and lessors. No information was given on the costs that SkyUp or its shareholders would incur for the EU project.

AOC and operating license applied for in Malta

One is much more talkative about the EU state in which one applied for the AOC: It is - unsurprisingly - Malta. SkyUp Europe's aircraft will therefore be entered into the 9H register. The management justifies the decision for the Mediterranean state with the fact that the support from the local authorities should be very good and of course the tax legislation should also be advantageous in order to be able to operate pan-European. Obtaining an AOC and operating license in Malta would be comparatively cheap because the costs (documents, official fees, permits, etc.) would only be around five million euros. Due to the Maltese regulations, which state that a new AOC holder must have at least two aircraft, at least two aircraft will initially be used. However, the exact number has not yet been determined. In any case, in the summer of 2023 they want to have 19 aircraft on the new EU AOC.

The first charter flights are scheduled to start in late autumn 2022. ACMI orders, which are currently being served by the Ukrainian SkyUp, are also to be transferred to the new company. The sale of tickets for commercial flights is scheduled to start at the end of November/beginning of December 2022. The first scheduled flight on its own account is scheduled to take place at the end of March 2023. The fleet is to be gradually increased to 19 machines, presumably Boeing 737s, but no information was given on the type of machine.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Editor of this article:

Jan Gruber is Senior Editor at Aviation.Direct. Before that, he had held the same position at AviationNetOnline (formerly Austrian Aviation Net) since 2012. He specializes in low-cost carriers, regional aviation in the DA-CH region and in-depth research.

Nobody likes paywalls
- not even Aviation.Direct!

Information should be free for everyone, but good journalism costs a lot of money.

If you enjoyed this article, you can check Aviation.Direct voluntary for a cup of coffee Coffee trail (for them it's free to use).

In doing so, you support the journalistic work of our independent specialist portal for aviation, travel and tourism with a focus on the DA-CH region voluntarily without a paywall requirement.

If you did not like the article, we look forward to your constructive criticism and / or your suggestions for improvement, either directly to the editor or to the team at with this link or alternatively via the comments.

Your
Aviation.Direct team
paywalls
nobody likes!

About the editor

Jan Gruber is Senior Editor at Aviation.Direct. Before that, he had held the same position at AviationNetOnline (formerly Austrian Aviation Net) since 2012. He specializes in low-cost carriers, regional aviation in the DA-CH region and in-depth research.

Nobody likes paywalls
- not even Aviation.Direct!

Information should be free for everyone, but good journalism costs a lot of money.

If you enjoyed this article, you can check Aviation.Direct voluntary for a cup of coffee Coffee trail (for them it's free to use).

In doing so, you support the journalistic work of our independent specialist portal for aviation, travel and tourism with a focus on the DA-CH region voluntarily without a paywall requirement.

If you did not like the article, we look forward to your constructive criticism and / or your suggestions for improvement, either directly to the editor or to the team at with this link or alternatively via the comments.

Your
Aviation.Direct team
paywalls
nobody likes!

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Advertising

SkyUp gründet Tochter-Airline auf Malta und will mit 19 Maschinen den EU-Markt aufmischen

Boeing 737-700 (Foto: V1Images.com/Thorsten Urbanek).
Boeing 737-700 (Foto: V1Images.com/Thorsten Urbanek).

SkyUp gründet Tochter-Airline auf Malta und will mit 19 Maschinen den EU-Markt aufmischen

Boeing 737-700 (Foto: V1Images.com/Thorsten Urbanek).
Werbung

Die ukrainische Billigfluggesellschaft SkyUp Airlines will sich dauerhaft im ACMI- und Chartergeschäft in der Europäischen Union etablieren. Dazu gründet man eine neue Tochtergesellschaft, die ein EU-AOC erhalten soll. Diese soll auch ab März 2023 ins Liniengeschäft einsteigen.

Großaktionär Alexander Alba kündigte an, dass man zunächst ab der Slowakei, Tschechien, Rumänien, Polen, Moldawien und den baltischen Staaten aus Charterflüge für Reiseveranstalter durchführen wird. Gleichzeitig wurde auch betont, dass die bestehenden ACMI-Kooperationen auf das neue AOC übertragen werden. Beispielsweise Smartwings hat derzeit eine Boeing 737-800 von SkyUp im Wetlease. Damit dürfte auch klar sein warum man beispielsweise die Slowakei und Tschechien explizit genannt hat.

Linienflüge ab Österreich und Deutschland „wahrscheinlich“

Der SkyUp-Teilhaber sagte auch, dass die Neugründung auch ab Österreich und Deutschland aktiv werden könnte. Damit sind nicht bestehende ACMI-Aufträge, beispielsweise für Corendon, sondern Charterflüge sowie Linienstrecken. Nähere Einzelheiten wurden noch nicht genannt.

Zunächst will man mit dem ACMI- und Chartergeschäft starten. In diesem ist die ukrainische SkyUp bereits tätig. Die künftige Konzernschwester SkyUp Europe soll die bestehenden Kunden in der EU „übernehmen“ und für diese weiterhin im ACMI bzw. Charter fliegen. Zusätzlich will man eigene Linienflüge ab den im zweiten Absatz genannten Staaten aufnehmen. Linienaktivitäten ab Österreich und Deutschland hält man für wahrscheinlich, befinden sich jedoch derzeit noch in Prüfung. Bedienen will man klassische Urlaubsländer, darunter die Türkei, Ägypten und auch Tansania.

Konzernschwester Join Up soll für Grundauslastung sorgen

Mit der Join-Up-Group, die Niederlassungen in den baltischen Staaten, Rumänien und Polen hat, hat man laut SkyUp-Commercial-Director Liudmyla Slobodyaniuk bereits den ersten Großkunden an der Hand. SkyUp Europe, so der offizielle Projektname der Neugründung, könnte die Linienflüge, die derzeit evaluiert werden, frühestens ab Ende März 2023 durchführen. „Die lang geplante strategische Absicht wird verwirklicht – die Schaffung einer vollwertigen europäischen Fluggesellschaft, die in der EU operieren wird“, sagt Slobodyaniuk. Dass man mit Join Up zusammenarbeitet, ist absolut kein Zufall: Dieser Tour Operator gehört ebenfalls dem Firmenimperium der Familie Alba an.

SkyUp will sich aber nicht zu tief in die Karten blicken lassen, denn „SkyUp Europe“ ist – wie erwähnt – nur der Projektname. Es ist zwar nicht ausgeschlossen, dass es der endgültige Markenauftritt wird, jedoch betont der ukrainische Billigflieger, dass man die Marke, die ersten Bases sowie das Streckennetz erst zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt kommunizieren wird. Man befinde sich momentan in finalen Verhandlungen mit diversen Stellen, darunter Flughäfen, Reiseveranstalter und Leasinggeber. Auch zu den Kosten, die SkyUp bzw. deren Aktionäre für das EU-Projekt entstehen, machte man keine Angaben.

AOC und Betriebsgenehmigung auf Malta beantragt

Sehr viel gesprächiger ist man über den EU-Staat, in dem man das AOC beantragt hat: Es handelt sich – wenig überraschend – um Malta. Die Flugzeuge von SkyUp Europe werden also ins 9H-Register eingetragen werden. Das Management begründet die Entscheidung für den Mittelmeerstaat unter anderem damit, dass die Unterstützung durch die lokalen Behörden sehr gut sein soll und natürlich soll auch die Steuergesetzgebung vorteilhaft sein, um paneuropäisch operieren zu können. Das Erlangen von AOC und Betriebsgenehmigung auf Malta wäre insofern vergleichsweise günstig, weil die Kosten (Dokumente, Behördengebühren, Genehmigungen, etc.) lediglich rund fünf Millionen Euro betragen würden. Aufgrund der maltesischen Vorgaben, die besagen, dass ein neuer AOC-Holder mindestens zwei Flugzeuge haben muss, wird man zunächst mit mindestens zwei Maschinen an den Start gehen. Die genaue Stückzahl steht aber noch nicht fest. Im Sommer 2023 will man jedenfalls 19 Flugzeuge auf dem neuen EU-AOC haben.

Die ersten Charterflüge sollen im Spätherbst 2022 aufgenommen werden. Auch sollen ACMI-Aufträge, die momentan von der ukrainischen SkyUp bedient werden, auf die neue Gesellschaft übertragen werden. Der Verkauf von Flugscheinen für die eigenwirtschaftlichen Flüge soll Ende November/Anfang Dezember 2022 aufgenommen werden. Der erste Linienflug auf eigene Rechnung soll Ende März 2023 durchgeführt werden. Die Flotte soll sukzessive auf 19 Maschinen, vermutlich Boeing 737, jedoch äußerte man sich zum Maschinentyp nicht, hochgefahren werden.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

Redakteur dieses Artikels:

Jan Gruber ist Leitender Redakteur von Aviation.Direct. Zuvor war er seit 2012 in selbiger Funktion bei AviationNetOnline (vormals Austrian Aviation Net) tätig. Er ist auf Lowcost-Carrier, Regionalluftfahrt in der D-A-CH-Region und tiefgehende Recherchen spezialisiert.

Paywalls mag niemand
– auch Aviation.Direct nicht!

Informationen sollten frei für alle sein, doch guter Journalismus kostet viel Geld.

Wenn Ihnen dieser Artikel gefallen hat, können Sie Aviation.Direct freiwillig auf eine Tasse Kaffee Kaffee einladen.

Damit unterstützen Sie die journalistische Arbeit unseres unabhängigen Fachportals für Luftfahrt, Reisen und Touristik mit Schwerpunkt D-A-CH-Region und zwar freiwillig ohne Paywall-Zwang.

Wenn Ihnen der Artikel nicht gefallen hat, so freuen wir uns auf Ihre konstruktive Kritik und/oder Ihre Verbesserungsvorschläge wahlweise direkt an den Redakteur oder an das Team unter unter diesem Link oder alternativ über die Kommentare.

Ihr
Aviation.Direct-Team
Paywalls
mag niemand!

Über den Redakteur

Jan Gruber ist Leitender Redakteur von Aviation.Direct. Zuvor war er seit 2012 in selbiger Funktion bei AviationNetOnline (vormals Austrian Aviation Net) tätig. Er ist auf Lowcost-Carrier, Regionalluftfahrt in der D-A-CH-Region und tiefgehende Recherchen spezialisiert.

Paywalls mag niemand
– auch Aviation.Direct nicht!

Informationen sollten frei für alle sein, doch guter Journalismus kostet viel Geld.

Wenn Ihnen dieser Artikel gefallen hat, können Sie Aviation.Direct freiwillig auf eine Tasse Kaffee Kaffee einladen.

Damit unterstützen Sie die journalistische Arbeit unseres unabhängigen Fachportals für Luftfahrt, Reisen und Touristik mit Schwerpunkt D-A-CH-Region und zwar freiwillig ohne Paywall-Zwang.

Wenn Ihnen der Artikel nicht gefallen hat, so freuen wir uns auf Ihre konstruktive Kritik und/oder Ihre Verbesserungsvorschläge wahlweise direkt an den Redakteur oder an das Team unter unter diesem Link oder alternativ über die Kommentare.

Ihr
Aviation.Direct-Team
Paywalls
mag niemand!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

Werbung